The Advisory Board of the FSCHR was established in 2016, to advise the Centre on its activities and development. It convenes on a bi-annual basis.

Currently the board consists of the following members:
  • Prof John C Mubangizi (Chairperson) (Dean, Faculty of Law, University of the Free State, ex officio)
  • Judge Cagney Musi (Judge President, Free State High Court, ex officio)
  • Prof Corli Witthuhn (Vice-Rector: Research, University of the Free State, ex officio)
  • Ms Nicole Morris (Acting Dean of Student Affairs, ex officio)
  • Mr Thabang Kheswa (South African Human Rights Commission, ex officio)
  • Mr JC van der Merwe (Deputy Director, Unit for Institutional Change and Social Justice, University of the Free State)
  • Prof Frans Viljoen (Director, Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria)
  • Prof Helene Strauss (Professor, Department of English, University of the Free State)
  • Prof Tshepo Madlingozi (Director, Centre for Applied Legal Studies, University of the Witwatersrand)
  • Ms Louise du Plessis (Head, Land and Housing Programme, Lawyers for Human Rights)
  • Adv Anna-Marie de Vos (SC)
  • Vacant (Judge, Supreme Court of Appeal, ex officio)



T: +27 51 401 2451
F: + 27 51 401 3043


Equitas Building
UFS Bloemfontein Campus

Law photo for next to contact block

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.