Ethics committees

UFS strip research

Research ethics at the UFS is divided into four primary categories, namely, Health Sciences Research, Human/General Research, Animal Research, and Biosafety and Environment Research. It is from these four categories that the ethics committees are derived, and their respective standard operating procedures (SOPS) are developed and implemented. The four committees are:

1.⁠ ⁠Health Sciences Research Ethics Committee (HSREC)
  • All health science-related research which involves participants who are either patients, employees and/or students of the Free State Department of Health or the Faculty of Health Sciences.
  • All health sciences-related research which reflects on teaching and learning, research, leadership and administration, and/or engaged scholarship within the Faculty of Health Sciences
2.⁠ ⁠General/Human Research Ethics Committee (GHREC)
  • All research that is NOT health-related, animal-related, or bio-safety- (hazardous material included) related, must be submitted to GHREC. 
3.⁠ ⁠Animal Research Ethics Committee (AREC)
  • If there is use of animals in any form or shape, the research must be submitted to AREC.
4.⁠ ⁠Environment and Bio-Safety Research Ethics Committee (EBREC) 
  • Environment and bio-hazardous material-related research must be submitted to EBREC.

Contact me


Boemo Segoje
Officer: RIMS, Ethics and Creative Outputs
T: +27 51 401 7619

Johannes Brill Building, First Floor, Bloemfontein Campus.


We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.